The Honourable Michael Wilson, P.C., C.C.
The Honourable Michael Wilson, P.C., C.C.

Chair
Toronto, Ontario

  • Michael Wilson has combined a distinguished record of public service with long-standing leadership within Canada’s business community. Currently the Chair of Barclay’s Capital Canada, he has been Chair of UBS Canada, responsible for RBC Financial Group's Institutional Asset Management business and also served as a Vice Chairman of RBC Dominion Securities.

    Mr. Wilson was the Member of Parliament for Etobicoke Centre between 1979 and 1993, during which time he served as Minister of Finance (1984 – 1991) and Minister of International Trade and Industry, Science and Technology (1991-1993).  In 2006, he was appointed as Canada’s Ambassador to the United States, where he served until 2009.

    A Companion of the Order of Canada, Mr. Wilson has been active in a number of professional and community organizations, including Brain Canada, the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, the Canadian Cancer Society, the Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships and the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance.

Christine Donoghue
Christine Donoghue

Ottawa, Ontario

Effective January 3, 2017, Christine Donoghue, currently Acting President of the Public Service Commission of
Canada, will take on the role of Associate Deputy Minister at Health Canada.

Christine brings extensive public service experience to the department. She first joined the federal public service in 1984 as a senior fisheries officer at Fisheries and Oceans Canada. She left the public service in 1987 to study law and later became a legislative advisor to the Government House Leader of the National Assembly of Quebec. Since 2005, Christine has served in Assistant Deputy Minister positions at Natural Resources Canada, the Canada School of Public Service, Environment Canada, and Policy Horizons Canada. In 2014, she became the Senior Vice-President, Policy at the Public Service Commission, and has held the position of Acting President since February 2015.

Tera Beaulieu
Tera Beaulieu

Toronto, Ontario

Tera Beaulieu, a recipient of the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), is completing her Doctor of Philosophy in the Counselling/Clinical Psychology Program at the University of Toronto. Her program of research examines the supports and challenges of Métis traditional knowledge in addressing the life transition needs (mental health, education and employment) of urban Métis homeless people.

Currently working as a Program Manager with Aboriginal Services at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH), she has previous experience with the Women’s Program, Psychological Trauma Program, and Youth Addiction and Concurrent Disorders Service at CAMH. Additionally, she acts as an independent consultant for projects related to Aboriginal health and well-being and possesses an area of expertise in Métis mental health.

Ms. Beaulieu has lectured at the University of Toronto, York University, and the University of Windsor, and instructed at Ryerson University. She is the President of the Toronto and York Region Métis Council and has received several awards for her leadership within the Aboriginal community of Toronto, including the Miinake Award (which means those walking a good path in Ojibwe) from the Native Women’s Resource Centre of Toronto and the University of Toronto President’s Award for Most Outstanding Native Student of the Year.

Ms. Beaulieu is a proud citizen of the Métis Nation of Ontario, scholar, clinician, and community member.

Watch Ms. Beaulieu’s introductory message.

Charles Bruce
Charles Bruce

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Charles Bruce is a senior executive with broad-based experience in finance, operations, and corporate governance.  Currently the inaugural CEO of the Public Service Pension Plan Corporation in Newfoundland and Labrador, he was previously the CEO of the Nova Scotia Public Service Long Term Disability Plan Trust Fund (NSPS LTD).

With an extensive background in the fields of corporate finance, strategy and governance, he is former Chair of the Nova Scotia chapter of the Canadian Mental Health Association. Mr. Bruce has been a member of the MHCC Advisory Council, providing strategic advice and expertise to the MHCC leadership, while serving as an external Ambassador at MHCC events.

Mr. Bruce holds the Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CMA), Chartered Director (C. Dir) and Certified Financial Planner (CFP) professional designations.

Watch Mr. Bruce’s introductory message.

John G. Abbott
John G. Abbott

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

John G. Abbott is Deputy Minister of Heath and Community Services with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, a position he held earlier (2004-2007).  Before that he practiced as a management consultant with The Institute for the Advancement of Public Policy, Inc. (St. John’s) where he specialized in public policy analysis and development, and served as CEO of the Health Council of Canada (Toronto) from 2008-2014. 

John’s distinguished work as a public sector executive earned him The Institute of Public Administration of Canada (NL Division) Lieutenant-Governor Award of Excellence in Public Administration in 1999. In 2012, Canadian Mental Health Association - NL awarded him the Dr. Clarence Pottle Award for Outstanding Service to Furthering Mental Health in the province.

John holds a BA in political science and economics from Memorial University of Newfoundland and a MA in Public Administration from Carleton University (Ottawa). 

In addition to his role as deputy minister, John is National Treasurer of the Canadian Mental Health Association and past President of its NL Division, as well as a member of the Mental Health Commission of Canada. Over the past decade, John sat on the board of directors of the NL Division of the Canadian Corps of Commissionaires, Hot Soup Cool Jazz Association, Community Coalition 4 Mental Health, and Jimmy Pratt Foundation.

John’s personal interests include heritage property restoration, travel, hiking, camping and reading political biographies and historical fiction. In 2014, John walked the Camino de Santiago in northern Spain; previous to that he hiked Africa’s Kilimanjaro and took a polar dip in the Antarctic. He continues to hike the beautiful and at times challenging East Coast Trail.

Uppala Chandrasekera
Uppala Chandrasekera

Vice Chair
Toronto, Ontario

Uppala Chandrasekera is the Director of Policy and Planning at the Canadian Mental Health Association. She is also a Strategic Policy Advisor to the provincial Human Services and Justice Coordinating Committee, which supports the implementation of the Ontario government’s policy framework for people who come into contact with the justice system and who have needs which can be met by one or more of the provincial human services systems.  

As Managing Partner at Authentiq Consulting,  Ms. Chandrasekera provides education, training, and consultation services in the areas of human rights, access and equity, diversity, inclusion and anti-oppression.

She is Past President of the Board of Directors at the Parkdale Community Health Centre in Ottawa. A Registered Social Worker, Ms. Chandrasekera holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts from the University of Toronto and a Masters of Social Work from Wilfrid Laurier University.

Ms. Chandrasekera’s advocacy work and published writings examine the impact of the lived experience of discrimination and racism on the health, mental health and wellbeing of marginalized populations.

Watch Ms. Chandrasekera’s introductory message.

Kim Calsaferri
Kim Calsaferri

Vancouver, British Columbia

Kim Calsaferri is Regional Leader of tertiary MHA & Strategic Initiatives at Vancouver Coastal Health’s Regional Mental Health and Addictions Program, Regional Leader of Psychosocial Rehabilitation (PSR), Client and Family Initiatives, and also Contract Manager for Vancouver Coastal Health.

A trained occupational therapist, she serves as Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of British Columbia’s School of Occupational Sciences and Occupational Therapy. Ms. Calsaferri has over 20 years of clinical and administrative experience working with people with lived experience, family members, staff, and agencies in the non-profit sector.

As a sibling of a person living with mental illness, Ms. Calsaferri is committed to advancing PSR best practices and also recovery in the field of mental health and addictions.

Watch Ms. Calsaferri’s introductory message.

Manon Charbonneau
Manon Charbonneau

Sept-Îles, Quebec

Dr. Manon Charbonneau, a Past President of the Canadian Psychiatric Association (CPA), is Chief of the Department of Psychiatry at Sept-Îles Regional Hospital in eastern Quebec.

Dr. Charbonneau Chaired the CPA’s Working Group for the Prevention of Stigma and Discrimination. She has more than 15 years of experience serving as Vice President, Secretary and Chair of several committees within the Association des médecins psychiatres du Québec.

In 2012, Dr. Charbonneau was honoured as a Distinguished Fellow of the CPA and was a presenter at the 5th International Stigma Conference, hosted by the MHCC, entitled “Together Against Stigma: Changing How We See Mental Illness”.

Dr. Charbonneau has experience working with diverse, multilingual and multicultural populations, including French and English-speaking Canadians, Métis, Innu, and Naskapi.

Watch Ms. Charbonneau’s introductory message.

Mike Dalton
Mike Dalton

Calgary, Alberta

Mike Dalton is an experienced financial executive, corporate director and retired officer in the Canadian Armed Forces. Currently the Chief Financial Officer of Guardian Exploration Inc., he has extensive experience in the design and implementation of financial accountability systems.

Mr. Dalton’s military experience and involvement with the Calgary Military Family Resource Centre provides the MHCC Board with the insights that can only come from a person with lived experience of military service and its impacts.  

Mr. Dalton holds an Executive MBA from Athabasca University, as well as Chartered Professional Accounting designations (CA and CGA).

Watch Mr. Dalton’s introductory message.

Cheryl Fraser
Cheryl Fraser

New Glasgow, Nova Scotia

Cheryl Fraser brings over 35 years of experience in the public and private sectors. Currently Chief Talent Officer and Vice President, Communications with Crombie REIT, she has held senior executive roles with the Canada Revenue Agency, Correctional Service of Canada, Treasury Board Secretariat, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada.  

A graduate of Dalhousie University, holding a Masters of Environmental Studies and a Bachelor of Science, Ms. Fraser is President of the John Howard Society of Nova Scotia and the Vice Chair of the YMCA of Pictou County.

She has an ICD.D designation and received the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012 for her commitment to public service.

Ms. Fraser’s passions are music and the arts, and in providing mental health awareness and support.

Watch Ms. Fraser’s introductory message.

Arlene Hache
Arlene Hache

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Arlene Hache, a person who has experienced homelessness, is well known across the Northwest Territories and Nunavut as an advocate for social change. Ms. Hache was a founder and the Executive Director of Centre for Northern Families for 25 years. The Centre offered a broad range of services including an emergency shelter for women, a poverty law program, a family support program and third party intervention and child supervision services for families impacted by violence.

Ms. Hache actively participated in the development, implementation and evaluation of every program offered at the Centre including: a family support delivery model and training curriculum that helps families strengthen and negotiate internal and external inter-personal relationships in a way that promotes healthy interdependence; and, she co-developed and co-managed a gender specific trauma recovery program for First Nations, Inuit and Métis women who were impacted by colonization, systemic oppression and extreme levels of violence.

As a result of her work in the North, Ms. Hache was awarded the Order of Canada in 2009 and then the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012. She has participated on several research teams and is a published author.

Mark Henick
Mark Henick

Toronto, Ontario

Mark Henick is the National Director of Strategic Initiatives for the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA). He has served as the President and CEO of CMHA (New Brunswick) and as a national spokesperson for the Canada-wide Faces of Mental Illness campaign.

Informed by his direct experience with stigma and the mental health care system, Mr. Henick has dedicated his life from an early age to opening minds and creating change.

He has served on the Government of New Brunswick's Mental Health Strategy Advisory Committee, which oversaw the creation of The Action Plan for Mental Health in New Brunswick. He was also a member of the Atlantic Coordinating Committee on Crime Prevention and Community Safety's 2010 conference planning committee and has previously served on various other committees and boards relating to mental health.

Mr. Henick is also an active presenter and public speaker on topics including his personal lived experience with anxiety, depression and attempted suicide.

Watch Mr. Henick’s introductory message.

Richard Jock
Richard Jock

Vancouver, British Columbia

An experienced leader in the field of the design and implementation of health services for Indigenous peoples, Richard Jock is currently Chief Operating Officer of the First Nations Health Authority in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Mr. Jock brings a wealth of experience gained at the community, provincial and national levels while working with the Assembly of First Nations, Health Canada, The Mohawk Council of Akwasasne, Norway House Health Services Incorporated and as Director of the First Nations Health Commission.
Mr. Jock holds a Bachelor of Arts from the State University of New York (Plattsburg) and a Master of Education from St. Lawrence University, Canton, New York.

Watch Mr. Jock’s introductory message.

Peter Ralph
Peter Ralph

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Peter Ralph is a solicitor in the Litigation Unit of the Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Justice. He is also Director of the Provincial Advisory Council on Mental Health and Addictions.

Mr. Ralph has served as a Panel Member of the Newfoundland Mental Health Care and Treatment Act Review Board. For more than 20 years he practiced criminal defence law, specializing in representing clients with mental health issues.

As a former staff lawyer with the Newfoundland Legal Aid Commission, he helped establish the Mental Health Court in St. John’s. Mr. Ralph also served as President of the Board of the Consumers’ Health Awareness Network of Newfoundland and Labrador.

A husband, father and mental health consumer, Mr. Ralph has participated in various committees focused on mental health, including the drafting and implementation of the Mental Health Care and Treatment Act.

Watch Mr. Ralph’s introductory message.

The Honourable Michael Wilson, P.C., C.C.
L’honorable Michael Wilson, C.P., C.C.

Président du conseil d’administration
Toronto (Ontario)

M. Wilson a mené une brillante carrière lors de laquelle il a fait preuve d’un leadership indéfectible, tant au sein de la communauté canadienne des affaires qu’à l’échelle de la fonction publique. À l’heure actuelle, il est le président de Barclays Capital Canada inc. Par le passé, il a été président du conseil d’administration d’UBS Canada et vice-président du conseil d’administration de RBC Dominion Valeurs mobilières.

M. Wilson a été le député d’Etobicoke-Centre de 1979 à 1993, période au cours de laquelle il a été ministre des Finances (1984‑1991), puis ministre de l’Industrie, des Sciences et de la Technologie et ministre du Commerce international (1991‑1993). De 2006 à 2009, il a été ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis.

Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada, M. Wilson a été actif au sein de plusieurs organisations professionnelles et communautaires, dont la Fondation Neuro Canada, le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale, la Société canadienne du cancer, le Conseil canadien pour les partenariats public-privé et la Coalition canadienne pour une saine gestion des entreprises.

Christine Donoghue
Christine Donoghue

Ottawa, Ontario

À compter du 3 janvier 2017, Christine Donoghue, présidente intérimaire actuelle de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada, assumera le rôle de sous-ministre déléguée de Santé Canada.

Christine apporte une vaste expérience de la fonction publique au Ministère. C’est en 1984 qu’elle a entamé sa carrière à la fonction publique du Canada à titre d’agente principale des pêches, à Pêches et Océans Canada. Elle a quitté ce poste en 1987 afin de poursuivre des études de droit qui, ensuite, l’ont amenée à exercer les fonctions de conseillère législative auprès du leader parlementaire du gouvernement, à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. Depuis 2005, Christine a accédé à des postes de sous-ministre adjointe à Ressources naturelles Canada, à l’École de la fonction publique du Canada, à Environnement Canada et à Horizons de politiques Canada. En 2014, elle est devenue vice-présidente principale de la direction générale des politiques à la Commission de la fonction publique et y occupe la fonction de présidente par intérim depuis février 2015.

Tera Beaulieu
Tera Beaulieu

Toronto (Ontario)

Boursière du Programme d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), Mme Beaulieu, obtiendra sous peu son doctorat en philosophie du counseling et de la psychologie clinique à l’Université de Toronto. Son programme de recherche porte sur la façon dont le savoir traditionnel des Métis appuie ou entrave les besoins (santé mentale, éducation, emploi) des Métis aux prises avec l’itinérance dans des régions urbaines lorsqu’ils doivent effectuer de grandes transitions dans leur vie.

Actuellement gestionnaire de programme des services aux Autochtones du Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale (CTSM), Mme Beaulieu détient une expérience appréciable du programme destiné aux femmes, du programme des traumatismes psychologiques et des services liés à la toxicomanie et aux troubles concomitants chez les jeunes au sein de cet organisme. En outre, elle agit à titre conseillère indépendante dans le cadre de projets liés à la santé et au bien-être des Autochtones, en plus d’être une experte en santé mentale chez les Métis.

Mme Beaulieu a donné de multiples conférences à l’Université de Toronto, à l’Université York et à l’Université de Windsor, en plus d’enseigner à l’Université Ryerson. Elle est présidente du Conseil des Métis de la région de Toronto et de York et a reçu de nombreux prix pour son leadership au sein de la communauté autochtone de Toronto, dont le prix Miinake (qui signifie « emprunter le bon chemin » en Ojibwe ) du Native Women’s Resource Centre of Toronto ainsi que le prix du président de l’Université de Toronto décerné à l’étudiant autochtone exceptionnel de l’année.

Mme Beaulieu est une fière citoyenne de la Métis Nation of Ontario, universitaire, clinicienne et membre de la communauté.

Visionner le message de présentation de Mme Beaulieu.

Charles Bruce
Charles Bruce

St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

M. Bruce est un cadre supérieur qui détient une vaste expérience des finances, des opérations et de la gouvernance d’entreprises. À l’heure actuelle, il est le PDG  de la Société d’administration du Régime de retraite de la fonction publique de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il a par ailleurs été directeur général du Nova Scotia Public Service Long Term Disability Plan Trust Fund (NSPS LTD.).

Fort d'une expérience appréciable en finances d'entreprises, en stratégie et en gouvernance, il est le président sortant de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale en Nouvelle-Écosse. M. Bruce a été membre du conseil consultatif de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada (CSMC). Il a fourni une expertise et des conseils stratégiques aux cadres de cette organisation, tout en agissant à titre d’ambassadeur externe lors d’événements de la CSMC.

M. Bruce est comptable professionnel agréé (CPA) et détient les titres de directeur agréé et de planificateur financier agréé.

Visionner le message de présentation de M. Bruce.

John G. Abbott
John G. Abbott
Uppala Chandrasekera
Uppala Chandrasekera

Vice-présidente du conseil d’administration
Toronto (Ontario)

À l'heure actuelle, Mme Chandrasekera dirige la division des politiques et de la planification de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale (ACSM). Elle est également consultante en politiques stratégiques pour le Comité de coordination des services à la personne et des services juridiques. Ce dernier soutient la mise en œuvre du cadre stratégique du gouvernement de l’Ontario pour les personnes ayant des démêlés avec la justice, et dont les besoins pourraient être satisfaits par un ou plusieurs systèmes de services à la personne. 

À titre d’associée-cadre chez Authentiq Consulting, elle offre des services de sensibilisation, de formation et de consultation en matière de droits de la personne, d’accessibilité, d’équité, de diversité, d’inclusion et de mesures pour contrer l’oppression.

Elle est la présidente sortante du conseil d’administration du centre de santé communautaire de Parkdale, à Ottawa. Travailleuse sociale autorisée, Mme Chandrasekera est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts obtenu avec distinction de l’Université de Toronto et d’une maîtrise en travail social de l’Université Wilfrid-Laurier.

Mme Chandrasekera est auteure et militante. Ses travaux portent sur l’impact de la discrimination et du racisme sur la santé, la santé mentale et le bien-être des groupes marginalisés.

Visionner le message de présentation de Mme Chandrasekera.

Kim Calsaferri
Kim Calsaferri

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Mme Calsaferri est dirigeante régionale des initiatives stratégiques et de l'administration de la santé mentale dans le secteur tertiaire du programme de santé mentale et de dépendances, ainsi que dirigeante régionale en réadaptation psychosociale des initiatives relatives à la clientèle et aux familles de l’agence de santé Vancouver Coastal Health.

Ergothérapeute de formation, elle est professeure adjointe d’enseignement clinique à l’école d’ergothérapie de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Mme Calsaferri possède plus de 20 ans d’expérience clinique et administrative auprès de personnes ayant vécu  la maladie mentale, de leurs proches, d’intervenants et d’organismes sans but lucratif.

Sœur d’une personne aux prises avec la maladie mentale, Mme Calsaferri est résolue à promouvoir les pratiques exemplaires en matière de réadaptation psychosociale et de rétablissement associé à la santé mentale et aux dépendances.

Visionner le message de présentation de Mme Calsaferri.

Manon Charbonneau
Manon Charbonneau

Sept-Îles (Québec)

Ancienne présidente de l’Association des psychiatres du Canada (APC), la Dre Charbonneau, est actuellement directrice du service de psychiatrie du Centre hospitalier régional de Sept-Îles.

La Dre Charbonneau a été présidente du groupe de travail de l’APC sur la prévention de la stigmatisation et de la discrimination. Elle possède plus de 15 ans d’expérience à titre de vice-présidente, de secrétaire et de présidente de divers comités de l’Association des médecins psychiatres du Québec.

En 2012, l’APC a décerné à la Dre Charbonneau le titre de Distinguished Fellow de l’Association des psychiatres du Canada (DFAPC). Au cours de la même année, elle a également animé la conférence à l'occasion du 5e congrès international sur la stigmatisation organisé par la CSMC qui avait pour titre « Ensemble dans la lutte contre la stigmatisation : Changer la perception de la maladie mentale ».

La Dre Charbonneau détient une grande expérience auprès de diverses populations multilingues et multiculturelles (comme les Canadiens francophones et anglophones, les Métis, les Innus et les Naskapis).

Visionner le message de présentation de Mme Charbonneau.

Mike Dalton
Mike Dalton

Calgary (Alberta)

M. Dalton est un dirigeant financier et un directeur d’entreprise chevronné ainsi qu’un officier à la retraite des Forces armées canadiennes. Il occupe présentement le poste de dirigeant principal des finances de Guardian Exploration Inc.,  et détient une grande expérience de la conception et de la mise en œuvre de systèmes de justification financière.

L’expérience militaire de M. Dalton, ainsi que sa participation au conseil d’administration du Centre de ressources pour les familles des militaires de Calgary, donne au CA de la CSMC une perspective que seule personne ayant vécu une expérience militaire et ses impacts connexes est en mesure de fournir.  

M. Dalton est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université d’Athabasca et détient le titre de comptable professionnel agréé (CA et CGA).

Visionner le message de présentation de M. Dalton.

Cheryl Fraser
Cheryl Fraser

New Glasgow (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Mme Fraser possède plus de 35 années d’expérience dans les secteurs privé et public. Dirigeante de la gestion des talents et vice-présidente des communications chez Crombie REIT à l'heure actuelle, elle a occupé différents postes supérieurs au sein de l’Agence du revenu du Canada, du Service correctionnel Canada, du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et de Pêches et Océans Canada.  

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences et d’une maîtrise en études environnementales de l’Université Dalhousie, Mme Fraser est présidente de la Société John Howard de la Nouvelle-Écosse et vice-présidente du YMCA de Pictou.

Elle détient le titre ICD.D et a reçu en 2012 la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de Sa Majesté la reine pour son engagement à l’égard de la fonction publique.

Mme Fraser est passionnée par la musique et les arts, ainsi que par le soutien et la sensibilisation dans le domaine de la santé mentale.

Visionner le message de présentation de Mme Fraser.

Arlene Hache
Arlene Hache

Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Mme Hache, qui a vécu l’itinérance, est bien connue à l’échelle des T. N-O. et du Nunavut en tant que militante pour le changement social. Elle est l’ancienne directrice générale et fondatrice du Centre for Northern Families de Yellowknife. Le centre offrait une vaste gamme de services dont un refuge d’urgence pour les femmes, un programme de droits des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté, un programme de soutien familial ainsi que des services d’intervention par les tiers et de surveillance des enfants destinés aux familles touchées par la violence.

Mme Hache a participé activement à l’élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et à l’évaluation de chaque programme offert au centre, comme un plan de formation et un modèle de prestation de soutien aux familles pour aider ces dernières à devenir plus fortes et à mieux vivre leurs relations interpersonnelles internes et externes de façon à promouvoir une saine interdépendance. En outre, elle a conjointement élaboré et géré un programme de rétablissement après un traumatisme pour les femmes des communautés inuites, métisses et des Premières Nations ayant été touchées par la colonisation, l’oppression systémique et la violence extrême.

En raison de ses travaux dans les communautés nordiques, on lui a décerné la médaille remise à l’occasion du Jubilé d’argent de la Reine Élisabeth II en 2012. Elle est une auteure et a été membre de plusieurs équipes de recherches au fil des ans.

Mark Henick
Mark Henick

Toronto (Ontario)

M. Henick est directeur national des initiatives stratégiques de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale (ACSM). Il a agi à titre de président et de dirigeant principal de l’ACSM au Nouveau-Brunswick, ainsi qu’à titre de porte-parole national de la campagne pancanadienne Visages de la maladie mentale.

Ayant connu la stigmatisation qui sévit dans le système de santé mentale, M. Henick a décidé dès un jeune âge de consacrer sa vie à changer les mentalités pour susciter le changement. 

Il a fait partie du comité consultatif sur la stratégie en matière de santé mentale du Nouveau-Brunswick qui a encadré la création du Plan d’action pour la santé mentale du Nouveau-Brunswick. En outre, il été membre du comité de planification de la conférence 2010 du Comité de coordination de l’Atlantique sur la prévention du crime et la sécurité communautaire, en plus d'avoir siégé à divers autres comités et conseils associés à la santé mentale par le passé.

M. Henick prend souvent la parole en public au sujet de son expérience en lien avec l'anxiété, la dépression et le suicide.

Visionner le message de présentation de M. Henick.

Richard Jock
Richard Jock

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Dirigeant chevronné de la conception et de la mise en œuvre de services de santé pour les peuples autochtones, M. Jock occupe actuellement le poste de directeur de l’exploitation de la First Nations Health Authority à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

M. Jock détient une vaste expérience qu'il a acquise à l'échelle communautaire, provinciale et nationale en collaborant avec l’Assemblée des Premières Nations, Santé Canada, le Conseil des Mohawks d’Akwesasne, Norway House Health Services Incorporated et à titre de directeur du Secrétariat à la santé des Premières Nations.

M. Jock est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts de la State University of New York à Plattsburgh ainsi que d’une maîtrise en éducation de la St. Lawrence University à Canton (New York).

Visionner le message de présentation de M. Jock.

Peter Ralph
Peter Ralph

St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

M. Ralph est procureur au service du contentieux du ministère de la Justice de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il est également directeur du conseil consultatif provincial sur la santé mentale et les toxicomanies.

Il est un ancien membre du comité de révision de la loi provinciale sur les services et les soins en santé mentale. M. Ralph a pratiqué le droit criminel pendant plus de 20 ans, notamment pour représenter des clients aux prises avec des troubles mentaux.

À titre d’ancien avocat du bureau d’aide juridique en santé mentale de Terre-Neuve, il a participé à la création du tribunal provincial en santé mentale de St. John’s. Il est également l’ancien président du conseil d’administration du réseau de sensibilisation des usagers sur la santé de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Mari, père et usager des services en santé mentale, il a été membre de divers comités sur la santé mentale, dont celui qui était responsable de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de la loi sur les services et soins en santé mentale.

Visionner le message de présentation de M. Ralph.