Matthew Belshaw
Matthew Belshaw
Director, Information Technology
  • Matthew has worked with the Commission since December 2011, in various roles, but is now the Director of IT.
  • Previously he worked as Head of Operational IT for a foreign exchange company that specializes in advising and executing foreign exchange transactions, in Windsor, UK.
  • Other positions have been working for sporting goods manufacturers, within educational establishments & also working with crown corporations.
  • Matthew has 15 years of experience in Information Technology (IT)
Sapna Mahajan
Sapna Mahajan
Director, Mental Health Prevention and Promotion – Workplace Initiatives
  • Sapna comes to the Commission with experience working in health policy and management in Canada, the United States and overseas.
  • Prior to joining the Commission, Sapna worked at the Queen’s Centre for Health Services and Policy Research  leading an economic modeling study to analyze province-wide health human resource policy.
  • Sapna has also worked with the William J. Clinton Foundation and the Centre for International Health and Development.
  • At the Commission, Sapna supports the implementation of prevention and promotion initiatives in the areas of workplace mental health.
  • Sapna holds a Masters in International Public Health – Health Policy and Management from Boston University and is a Project Management Professional.
Micheal Pietrus
Micheal Pietrus
Director, MHFA & Opening Minds
  • Director of the Mental Health Commission of Canada’s international award winning anti-stigma initiative Opening Minds. In February 2015, Opening Minds receive the Innovator Award from the organizers of the 7th Together Against Stigma Conference in San Francisco as the “…program which creates a major impact through new approaches that inspire new possibilities and/or disrupts prevailing views.”
  • Under Micheal’s leadership, the Commission launched Opening Minds, its 10-year anti-stigma/anti-discrimination initiative which is the largest systematic effort to reduce the stigma of mental illness in Canadian history.
  • Opening Minds is an important priority for the MHCC because many people living with mental health issues say that the stigma associated with mental illness is often worse than the illness itself. It is a significant barrier keeping individuals dealing with mental health illness from seeking help.
  • Micheal is a founder and co-chair of the Global Anti-stigma Alliance, which is composed of more than 20 organizations from around the world working to reduce the stigma associated with mental illness
  • He sits on the Board of the Alberta Lieutenant Governor’s Circle on Mental Health and Addictions and is a member of the advisory committee for the Centre for Dignity, Recovery and Empowerment, San Francisco, CA.
  • Micheal was also a Director with the Alberta Mental Health Board.
Karla Thorpe
Karla Thorpe
Director, Prevention and Promotion Initiatives
  • After working with the Commission for nearly a year in workplace mental health promotion, Karla is now the Director of Prevention and Promotion Initiatives. In this role, she leads the development and execution of projects to promote Changing Directions, Changing Lives: The Mental Health Strategy for Canada. The initial focus of this team will include driving uptake of the Guidelines for Recovery-Oriented Practice in Canada and providing Housing First technical support, training, and evaluation. Her team will also support activities within the Mental Health Action Plan for Canada which is currently under development using extensive stakeholder consultation.
  • Prior to joining the Commission, Karla was a Director with the Leadership and Human Resources Research Division of The Conference Board of Canada, leading the organization’s Workplace Health and Wellness practice.
  • Karla has earned a Master of Science in Statistics from Queen’s University as well as a Bachelor of Commerce from Carleton University. 
Phil Upshall
Phil Upshall
Advisor, Stakeholder Relations (Part-Time)
  • Phil is the National Executive Director of the Mood Disorders Society of Canada (MDSC), a virtual national NGO with a mandate to represent the interests of consumers and families dealing with mood disorders.
  • Immediate past National Executive Director of the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH).
  • Managing Director of Mental Illness Awareness Week in Canada.
  • Holds national board positions with the Canada Post Foundation on Mental Illness and Mental Health; Advisory Board to the Canada Research Chair - National Core for Neuroethics at the University of British Columbia.
  • Adjunct professor, Department of Psychiatry, Dalhousie University.
  • Past member of the Institute Advisory Board of the Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction; past member of expert panels for Statistics Canada, Health Canada, Canadian Institute for Health Information and others.
  • Phil holds a commerce degree from Dalhousie University and a law degree from the University of Toronto. He was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1969.
Nicholas Watters
Nicholas Watters
Director, Knowledge Exchange Centre
  • Nicholas has significant experience working for not-for-profit organizations at both the national and provincial level with a focus on knowledge exchange, communications, capacity building, and network development and facilitation.
  • Nicholas has served on, and currently sits on multiple pan-Canadian networks aimed at increasing interorganizational/inter-disciplinary collaboration, mobilizing best and promising practices, increasing the use of effective knowledge exchange principles and practices, while aiming to reduce silos and redundancy within the system.
  • Nicholas also has pioneered training and development courses across the health sector aimed at increasing capacity.
  • Prior to joining the MHCC Nicholas served as the Senior Advisor Communications and Knowledge Transfer at the Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance of Canada.
Vicky Walker
Vicky Walker
Director, Organizational Performance
  • Passionate about evidence informed quality improvement and service excellence, Vicky has led numerous projects to measure performance and maximize organizational effectiveness.
  • In her current role, Vicky leads organization-wide efforts to ensure that performance management and quality improvement programs are developed and managed using a data driven focus. She provides the strategic and tactical direction for the performance management system and ensures alignment of operations with the Five-year Strategic Plan.
  • Prior to joining the MHCC Vicky had a proven track record at the national and regional level developing and managing balanced scorecards, evaluating and reporting on performance, managing projects, and collaborating with stakeholders.
  • Vicky has earned a Master of Health Administration from the University of Ottawa and is a Project Management Professional.

Matthew Belshaw
Matthew Belshaw
Directeur, Technologie de l’information
  • Matthew travaille à la Commission depuis décembre 2011, où il y a exercé  plusieurs rôles avant de devenir directeur de la TI.
  • Auparavant, il a été Chef des opérations de TI pour un  bureau de change spécialisé dans la prestation de conseils et dans les opérations déchanges de devises étrangères à Windsor, au Royaume‑Uni.
  • Il a également occupé des postes dans des entreprises de fabrication d’articles de sport, dans des établissements d’enseignement et dans des sociétés d’État.
  • Matthew a 15 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de la technologie de l’information (TI).
Sapna Mahajan
Sapna Mahajan
Directrice, Programmes de prévention et de promotion en milieu de travail
  • Sapna Mahajan apporte à la Commission son expérience de la gestion et des politiques en matière de santé au Canada, aux États-Unis et ailleurs dans le monde.
  • Avant de joindre la Commission, elle a travaillé pour le compte du Centre de recherche sur les politiques et les services de santé de l’Université Queen’s où elle a dirigé une étude de modélisation économique portant sur l’analyse des politiques provinciales relatives aux ressources humaines dans le secteur de la santé.
  • Elle a aussi collaboré avec la Fondation William J Clinton et avec le Centre de développement international et de santé (Centre for International Health and Development).
  • À la Commission, son rôle consiste à mettre en œuvre les initiatives de promotion et de prévention en ce qui concerne la santé mentale en milieu de travail.
  • Sapna Mahajan est titulaire d’une maîtrise en santé publique et en politiques de la santé de l’Université de Boston et d’une certification professionnelle de gestion de projets (PMP).
Micheal Pietrus
Micheal Pietrus
Directeur, PSSM et Changer les mentalités
  • Directeur de l’initiative de lutte contre la stigmatisation Changer les mentalités de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada, primée sur la scène internationale. De fait, l’initiative Changer les mentalités a reçu en février 2015 le Prix de l’innovation à l’occasion de la 7e conférence internationale Ensemble dans la lutte contre la stigmatisation à San Francisco; ce prix reconnaît les programmes ayant une incidence majeure grâce à de nouvelles approches, qui inspirent de nouvelles possibilités ou font changer les points de vue prédominants.
  • Sous la direction de M. Pietrus, la Commission a lancé Changer les mentalités, une initiative de lutte contre la stigmatisation et la discrimination d’une durée de dix ans, qui constitue le plus grand effort systématique jamais vu au Canada pour éliminer la stigmatisation associée à la maladie mentale.
  • L’initiative Changer les mentalités est l’une des grandes priorités de la Commission, car de l’avis de la plupart des personnes atteintes, la stigmatisation cause souvent plus de souffrance que la maladie en soi. Il s’agit d’un obstacle de taille qui empêche les personnes aux prises avec une maladie mentale de demander de l’aide.
  • M. Pietrus est également l’un des fondateurs et coprésidents de l’Alliance mondiale contre la stigmatisation, qui regroupe plus de 20 organismes de partout dans le monde dans le but d’éliminer la stigmatisation associée à la maladie mentale.
  • Il siège au conseil du Cercle des leaders en matière de santé mentale et de lutte aux dépendances du lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Alberta et est membre du comité consultatif du Centre for Dignity, Recovery and Empowerment de San Francisco (Californie).
  • M. Pietrus a en outre exercé les fonctions de directeur au sein de l’Alberta Mental Health Board.
Karla Thorpe
Karla Thorpe
Directrice, Programmes de prévention et de promotion
  • Après près d’un an à œuvrer pour la promotion de la santé mentale au travail à la Commission, Mme Thorpe est aujourd’hui directrice, Programmes de prévention et de promotion. À ce titre, elle pilote l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des différents projets faisant la promotion de Changer les orientations, changer des vies : Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour le Canada. La tâche première de son équipe consistera à favoriser l’adoption du Guide de référence pour des pratiques axées sur le rétablissement au Canada et d’offrir du soutien technique, des formations et des évaluations relativement à l’approche Logement d’abord. Ensemble, ils soutiendront également des initiatives relevant du Plan d’action sur la santé mentale du Canada, dont l’élaboration, fondée sur une vaste consultation des partenaires, est en cours.
  • Avant de se joindre à la Commission, Mme Thorpe occupait un poste de direction à la division de la Recherche sur le leadership et les ressources humaines du Conference Board du Canada, où elle supervisait les pratiques internes en matière de santé et de bien-être au travail.
  • Mme Thorpe détient une maîtrise ès sciences en statistiques de l’Université Queen’s ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Carleton.
Phil Upshall
Phil Upshall
Conseiller, Relations avec les partenaires (temps partiel)
  • Phil est directeur national de la Société pour les troubles de l'humeur du Canada, ONG national virtuel dont le mandat est de représenter les intérêts des consommateurs et des familles touchées par des troubles de l’humeur.
  • Il a récemment été directeur national de l’Alliance canadienne pour la maladie mentale et la santé mentale
  • Il a été administrateur délégué de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux maladies mentales au Canada
  • Il siège au conseil national de la Fondation de Postes Canada pour la santé mentale et au conseil consultatif de la Chaire de recherche du Canada, National Core for Neuroethics, à l’université de la Colombie-Britannique
  • II est professeur auxiliaire au département de psychiatrie de l'université Dalhousie
  • Ancien membre du comité consultatif de l’Institut des neurosciences, de la santé mentale et des toxicomanies, Phil a participé à des groupes d’experts pour Statistique Canada, Santé Canada, l’ICIS et autres
  • Phil est titulaire d'un diplôme en commerce de l’université Dalhousie et un diplôme en droit deul’Université de Toronto. Il a été appelé au Barreau de l’Ontario en 1969
Nicholas Watters
Nicholas Watters
Directeur du Centre d’échange des connaissances
  • Nicholas Watters a acquis une expérience approfondie auprès d’organismes sans but lucratif aux paliers national et provincial, en particulier dans le domaine de l’échange de connaissances, des communications, du renforcement des capacités, du développement de réseaux et de l’animation
  • Il a fait partie, ou fait toujours partie, de multiples réseaux pancanadiens visant à accroître la collaboration interorganisationnelle et interdisciplinaire, à la mobilisation des pratiques exemplaires et prometteuses et à l’utilisation accrue de principes et de pratiques efficaces en matière d’échange de connaissances, tout en ayant pour objectif la réduction du travail en vase clos et l’élimination des dédoublements dans le système
  • Il a aussi instauré des formations et des activités de perfectionnement professionnel dans les secteurs de la santé qui visaient le renforcement des capacités
  • Avant de joindre la Commission, Nicholas Watters a été conseiller en communications et en transfert des connaissances à l'Alliance pour la prévention des maladies chroniques au Canada.
Vicky Walker
Vicky Walker
Directrice, Rendement organisationnel
  • Passionnée par l’amélioration de la qualité et l’excellence du service qui reposent sur des données probantes, Vicky a dirigé de nombreux projets pour mesurer le rendement et maximiser l'efficacité organisationnelle.
  • Dans son rôle actuel, elle dirige les efforts déployés dans l'ensemble de l’organisation pour veiller à ce que des programmes de gestion du rendement et d’amélioration de la qualité soient développés et gérés en fonction des données. Elle offre une orientation stratégique et tactique relativement au système de gestion du rendement et s’assure que les activités sont conformes au plan stratégique quinquennal.
  • Avant de faire partie de l'équipe de la CSMC, Vicky a fait ses preuves à l’échelle nationale et régionale en développant et en gérant des tableaux de bord prospectifs, en évaluant le rendement et en présentant des rapports à ce sujet, en gérant des projets et en collaborant avec des intervenants.
  • Vicky est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration de la santé de l’Université d’Ottawa et est également une professionnelle en gestion de projet.