ELT Group 2016-2017
Louise Bradley, MS, RN, CHE
Louise Bradley
President and Chief Executive Officer
  • A proud Newfoundlander, Louise started her career as a registered nurse in Corner Brook, Newfoundland, where she discovered an immediate passion for mental health.
  • Louise’s work has taken her across the country, where she has held a range of positions across the health sector. From front-line nursing, to forensic and corrections care, to research, teaching, and large-scale hospital administration, Louise has seen mental health issues on the ground and at the highest administrative level.
  • Louise became President and CEO of the Mental Health Commission of Canada in 2010, after serving as Senior Operating Officer for the University of Alberta Hospital, one of Canada’s leading clinical, research and teaching hospitals.
  • She holds degrees from Dalhousie University and Northeastern University in Boston, where she received a Master of Science with a specialization in mental health. She also received a Psychiatric Nursing Diploma with clinical practicum at Memorial University of Newfoundland’s Harlow campus in Essex, England.
  • In June 2015, the Canadian College of Health Leaders presented her with the Innovation Award for Health Care Leadership for her work with the MHCC in encouraging future mental health pioneers. She was also given the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012 for her outstanding contributions to Canadian mental health.
  • In her years of work, Louise has heard from hundreds of Canadians living with mental health problems and illnesses. Their stories are her inspiration to spark leading and lasting change for mental health care in Canada.
Ed Mantler
Ed Mantler
Vice President, Programs and Priorities
  • A highly motivated visionary and an expert at building partnerships, engaging stakeholders, and inspiring change, Ed has led innovation and improvement in healthcare for over two decades.
  • As Vice President of Programs and Priorities at the Mental Health Commission of Canada, Ed is dedicated to promoting mental health and changing the attitudes of Canadians toward mental health problems and illnesses. By collaborating with stakeholders to improve mental health services and supports, he leads the way for change. Ed pays particular attention to reducing stigma and increasing mental resiliency through innovative measures like Mental Health First Aid, the National Standard for Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace, the Mental Health Strategy for Canada, the Knowledge Exchange Centre and Prevention and Promotion activities.
  • Ed is accustomed to wearing many different hats. He was CEO of the Physician Recruitment Agency of Saskatchewan and Senior Operating Officer of the University of Alberta Hospital. As an Accreditation Surveyor with Accreditation Canada, he contributes to quality and safety in healthcare across Canada and internationally. Ed is also a Registered Psychiatric Nurse, holds a Master’s of Science Administration, and is a Certified Health Executive.
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Vice-President, Organizational Performance and Public Affairs
  • Michel joined the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) in 2015, bringing a wealth of management experience and a unique mix of expertise in operations management, finance and accounting, information technology, human resources and communications.
  • As Vice President, Organizational Performance and Public Affairs, Michel aligns the Commission’s operational plans and organizational processes with its strategic objectives and priorities. His track record of delivering on major initiatives and his proficient management of an organization’s various functions ensures the MHCC has the infrastructure and support required to sustain leading-edge organizational performance.
  • Michel measures the impact of MHCC focus areas and their activities to supervise operations, track and report on progress, and evaluate performance.
  • A lifelong learner, Michel has an Executive MBA, Université du Québec in Montreal, QC. He has his Chartered Professional Accountant - Certified Management Accountant (CPA, CMA) designation; a graduate diploma in financial accounting and management accounting, Université du Québec in Outaouais, QC; and a Bachelor of Arts in History from Laurentian University, Sudbury, ON.
  • Michel is also an alumnus from two prestigious executive education programs: the Queens Executive Program and the Harvard Program on Negotiations.
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Vice President, Corporate Services & Chief Financial Officer
  • Rob has over 12 years of senior financial management experience with not-for-profit and privately owned organizations.
  • Rob’s most recent role was as Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and Vice President of Finance with the YMCA, both in Ottawa and St. John’s, Newfoundland.
  • Rob is a Certified Professional Accountant, a Certified General Accountant and received a Master of Business Administration from Memorial University of Newfoundland.
  • As Vice President, Corporate Services & Chief Financial Officer Rob provides leadership to the overall direction and support of financial management within the Commission and is responsible for supporting the Board of Directors and Committees of the Board in discharging their fiduciary responsibilities.

ELT Group 2016-2017
louise bradley photo
Louise Bradley
Présidente-directrice générale

• Fière Terre‑neuvienne, Louise Bradley a fait ses débuts à Corner Brook, à Terre‑Neuve, à titre d’infirmière. Elle s’y est découvert une passion pour la santé mentale.
• Sa carrière l’a amenée à occuper diverses fonctions dans le milieu de la santé à travers le pays. Que ce soit dans les services infirmiers de première ligne, la médecine judiciaire, les services correctionnels, la recherche, l’enseignement ou l’administration de grands établissements de santé, elle a vu les problèmes de santé mentale sur le terrain et dans les hautes sphères de l’administration.
• Elle a été nommée présidente-directrice générale de la Commission en 2010 après avoir assuré la direction des exploitations de l’hôpital universitaire de l’Alberta, l’un des établissements les plus importants de soins cliniques, de recherche et d’enseignement au Canada.
• Diplômée des universités Dalhousie et Northeastern de Boston, elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences spécialisée en santé mentale. Elle a également obtenu un diplôme de soins infirmiers psychiatriques après un stage pratique au campus Harlow d’Essex (Angleterre) de l’Université Memorial de Terre‑Neuve.
• En juin 2015, le Collège canadien des leaders en santé lui a décerné son prix d’innovation en matière de leadership en soins de santé  pour souligner le travail qu’elle accomplit avec la Commission dans la promotion des futurs pionniers de la santé mentale. De plus, en juin 2012, elle a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II qui soulignait ses contributions remarquables à la santé mentale au Canada.
• Au fil de sa carrière, Louise Bradley a rencontré des centaines de personnes aux prises avec un problème de santé mentale. Elle tire de leurs témoignages l’inspiration nécessaire pour susciter un changement durable en matière de santé mentale au Canada.

Ed Mantler
Ed Mantler
Vice-président, Programmes et priorités
  • Très motivé, Ed Mantler est un visionnaire particulièrement doué pour établir des partenariats, mobiliser les intervenants et promouvoir le changement. Il a été un pionnier  de l’innovation et de l’amélioration dans le domaine des soins de santé depuis plus de deux décennies.
  • À titre de vice‑président des Programmes et des Priorités à la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada, Ed se consacre à la promotion de la santé mentale et au changement des attitudes des Canadiennes et des Canadiens à l’égard des problèmes et des troubles qui y sont liés. En collaborant avec des intervenants pour améliorer les services et les mécanismes de soutien en santé mentale, il ouvre la voie au changement. Il accorde une attention particulière à la réduction de la stigmatisation et à l’accroissement de la résilience grâce à des mesures novatrices comme le cours de Premiers soins en santé mentale, la Norme nationale du Canada sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail, la Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour le Canada, le Centre d’échange des connaissances et des activités de prévention et de promotion.
  • Ed a l’habitude de porter bien des chapeaux. Il a occupé le poste de PDG de l’Agence de recrutement des médecins (Physician Recruitment Agency) de la Saskatchewan et de directeur général de l’exploitation de l’Hôpital universitaire de l’Alberta. Comme vérificateur de l’agrément auprès d’Agrément Canada, il contribue à assurer la qualité et la sécurité des soins de santé à l’échelle du Canada et dans le monde entier. Il est également infirmier psychiatrique et titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des sciences et d’une certification comme cadre dans le domaine de la santé (Certified Health Executive).
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Vice-président, Rendement organisationnel et affaires publiques
  • Michel Rodrigue s’est joint à la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada (la Commission) en 2015. Il apporte avec lui tout un bagage d’expérience en administration et une combinaison unique d’expertise en gestion des opérations, finances et comptabilité, technologie de l’information, ressources humaines et communications.
  • Dans son rôle de vice-président, rendement organisationnel et affaires publiques, M. Rodrigue harmonise les plans opérationnels et les processus organisationnels de la Commission à ses objectifs stratégiques et à ses priorités. Sa capacité démontrée de mener à bien des initiatives de premier plan et ses capacités de gestion dans  diverses fonctions d’une organisation lui permettent de veiller à ce que la Commission dispose de l’infrastructure et du soutien nécessaires pour continuer d’afficher un rendement exceptionnel.
  • M. Rodrigue mesure les impacts des activités entreprises selon les priorités de la Commission. Ces mesures lui permettent de superviser les opérations, faire le suivi des progrès, rendre compte et évaluer le rendement.
  • Il n’a jamais cessé de se perfectionner tout au long de sa vie. Il est titulaire d’une MBA pour cadres de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (Québec); il possède le titre de comptable professionnel agréé / comptable en management accrédité (CPA, CMA); il a un diplôme d’études supérieures en comptabilité financière et en comptabilité de gestion de l’Université du Québec en Outaouais (Québec); et un baccalauréat ès arts en histoire de l’Université Laurentienne de Sudbury, en Ontario.
  • M. Rodrigue est aussi un ancien élève de deux programmes d’études prestigieux pour les cadres : le Queens Executive Program et le Harvard Program on Negotiations.
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Vice-président, Services corporatifs et directeur financier
  • Robert Thomas cumule plus de 12 ans d’expérience comme gestionnaire financier principal au sein d’organismes sans but lucratif et d’entreprises privées.
  • Son dernier poste en date est celui de directeur financier et de vice-président aux Finances du YMCA d’Ottawa et de celui de St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.
  • Titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, M. Thomas est comptable professionnel agréé / comptable général accrédité (CPA, CMA).
  • À titre de vice-président, services corporatifs et directeur financier, M. Thomas exerce du leadership afin d’orienter et de soutenir la gestion financière au sein de la Commission, en plus d’assister le conseil d’administration et ses comités à s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités fiduciaires.