Ottawa, ON - The Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) has been invited to present to the Standing Committee on Finance as part of its pre-budget consultations. Michael Wilson, MHCC Chair, will present a plan for a National Suicide Prevention Project. Phil Upshall, National Executive Director of the Mood Disorders Society of Canada (MDSC), will present a joint proposal from the MHCC and the MDSC for a far-reaching training program for Canada’s health care providers to help in the early diagnosis and treatment of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.

Joint presentation by the MHCC and the MDSC to the Standing Committee on Finance

Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Hon. Michael Wilson, P.C., M.P., MHCC Chair
Phil Upshall, MDSC National Executive Director
Louise Bradley, MHCC President and CEO

Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street

Media availability immediately following the presentation.



Guided by Changing Directions, Changing Lives: The Mental Health Strategy for Canada, the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) is a catalyst for improving the mental health system and changing the attitudes and behaviours of Canadians around mental health – at home, work, and school, as well as with the media and healthcare providers – from coast to coast to coast. Through its unique mandate from Health Canada, the Commission is Canada’s coordinating agent, bringing together the best and most influential minds in the mental health community. The MHCC is collaborating with hundreds of partners towards a mental health system that is inclusive, adaptable, and supports Canadians living with mental health problems and mental illnesses in their recovery journey. Together we accelerate change needed to transform Canada’s mental health system and the wellbeing of all. |

Media Contact:
Patti Robson, Director of Marketing and Communications
Mental Health Commission of Canada
Office: 613.683.3742
Mobile: 613.282.1573


Sign up for the MHCC Newsletter
The views represented herein solely represent the views of the Mental Health Commission of Canada.
Production of this document is made possible through a financial contribution from Health Canada.