CAMIMH presents 14th annual Champions of Mental Health Awards Gala


In a week filled with rousing messages of support in the name of mental health and well-being, the Champions of Mental Health Awards Gala stood out as an important celebration of individuals and organizations devoted to the cause.

Held on May 3, the gala united political figures, business leaders, media personalities and the mental health community to #GETLOUD in honour of mental wellness advocates. 

Hosted by the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH) and sponsored by the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC), the night opened with a powerful address by the Hon. Jane Philpott, Minister of Health, who emphasized the economic importance of investing in mental health services.

“It is not too late to build a better health care system where mental health services are well-represented,” said Minister Philpott, who noted that close to 500,000 Canadians miss work due to mental illness in a given week.

Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health and Science, an early adopter of the National Standard for Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace, was among the evening’s esteemed awardees. Nominated by the MHCC and HealthCareCAN, Ontario Shores was recognized in the Workplace Mental Health category.

“The leadership at Ontario Shores is passionate about supporting the mental and physical well-being of their employees — the people at the heart of all they do,” said the Hon. Michael Wilson, Chair of the MHCC and presenter of their award. “They set an extraordinary example as a true Canadian leader in workplace mental health.”

The evening’s special guests included: Her Excellency Sharon Johnston, the Hon. Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, and the Hon. Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs.

“On behalf of the MHCC, I am delighted to congratulate this year’s winners,” said Louise Bradley, MHCC President and CEO. “They inspire all of us to ask what more we can be doing, at home, at work, and in our communities.”

Felicitations to this year’s Champions of Mental Health:

  • Community (Individual): Curtis Bishop
  • Community (Organization): The Centre d’expertise Marie Vincent (CEMV)
  • Media: Erin Anderssen, Senior Feature Writer, The Globe and Mail
  • Research/Clinician: Dr. Heather Stuart, Professor, Department of Community Health and Epidemiology, Department of Psychiatry, School of Rehabilitation Therapy, Queen’s University
  • Parliamentarian: The Hon. Patty Hajdu, Member of Parliament for Thunder Bay – Superior North and Minister of Status of Women
  • Workplace Mental Health: Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences
  • Youth: Bishop Ryan’s Celtic Circle Student Leadership Club

For more information, please view our Storify, here.