What Is The Issue?

Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside is well known for its chronic homelessness and widespread substance use. Yet while this neighbourhood appears to characterize Vancouver’s homelessness problem, it does not represent the true scope of the issue. Homelessness in Vancouver extends well beyond the Downtown Eastside—and in many cases, people who are considered homeless actually spend as little as five per cent of their time on the streets, instead cycling through various institutions that are often not able to adequately meet their mental health needs.


What Are We Doing?

Through referral sources that included emergency shelters and street outreach programs, the Vancouver At Home/Chez Soi project recruited nearly 500 participants. Although the project did not specifically target people with concurrent disorders (i.e., having both mental health and substance abuse issues), the majority of participants were found to be dependent on drugs or alcohol, and nearly a quarter were using drugs on a daily basis.

Leveraging multiple models of housing support

Implementing a Housing First strategy in Vancouver required a significant focus on chronic homelessness and concurrent disorders. However, the project also needed to include those who have less complex needs but are trapped in a cycle of intermittent stays in substandard housing, shelters, hospitals and correctional facilities—all of which provide little in the way of mental health services and supports.

To best serve this population, the Vancouver team took a two-tiered approach. Under the “dispersed housing” model, participants were provided with access to housing across 22 neighbourhoods throughout the city and were supported by either an Assertive Community Treatment team through RainCity Housing (for people with more complex needs) or an Intensive Case Management team through the Coast Foundation Society (for people with moderate needs). Housing was supported through the housing team at MPA Society. Another group of people were provided housing and support through the “congregate site” model by the Portland Hotel Society. Housed at a single site at the Bosman Hotel, these people were given access to a range of on-site mental health and addictions services to meet their needs. The research team at Simon Fraser University and the University of British Columbia led the research to explore the impacts of homelessness on participants from both the “dispersed housing” model and at the “congregate site” model. 

Collaborating with community partners
The Vancouver At Home/Chez Soi project worked extensively with community partners to share knowledge and ensure the initiative’s success. These partners include Vancouver Coastal Health, the City of Vancouver, the Vancouver Police Department, universities, not-for-profit organizations and provincial government departments

Spreading the word on Housing First
Both a skill-building tool and a way to raise awareness of the Housing First approach, the At Home/Chez Soi Vancouver Speakers Bureau gave study participants the opportunity to openly discuss their experiences of homelessness and the impact Housing First has had on their lives. The Speakers Bureau included 13 core members who have participated in more than 30 speaking engagements throughout Vancouver, sharing their stories and fighting the stigma surrounding homelessness and mental health.

Similarly, the National Film Board’s Here at Home, a web documentary following the lives of At Home/Chez Soi participants, brought to life the stories and experiences of Vancouver’s homeless population in a powerful way.


What We've Learned

Participants who received housing and support had fewer emergency hospital visits and were convicted of offences less often than participants who did not receive the same level of support. Perhaps more importantly, they also reported a renewed sense of belonging in the communities they now call home.

People with complex needs experiencing homelessness—particularly those with concurrent mental health and substance use issues—have traditionally been unable to consistently access the type of care that is vital for recovery. Vancouver’s At Home/Chez Soi study has shown that a Housing First approach can significantly improve the lives of the city’s homeless population, including those living in the Downtown Eastside. Final findings of the Vancouver site present a strong case that people can maintain housing and reach other important goals with the right support.

MHCC Reports

Quel est l'enjeu ?

Le quartier Downtown Eastside de Vancouver est bien connu pour son itinérance chronique et la consommation répandue de substances intoxicantes. Même si ce quartier caractérise le phénomène de l'itinérance à Vancouver, il ne rend pas compte de la véritable étendue du problème. L'itinérance à Vancouver s'étend bien au-delà de ce secteur. Dans de nombreux cas, les personnes considérées itinérantes passent aussi peu que 5 % de leur temps dans la rue et se déplacent d’un établissement à un autre. Or, ces centres ne sont pas en mesure de répondre à leurs besoins en matière de santé mentale.


Travail de la Commission

Le projet Chez Soi de Vancouver a recruté près de 500 participants recommandés par des refuges d’urgence, de services d’approche dans la rue et d’autres sources. Même si le projet ne ciblait pas particulièrement les personnes ayant des troubles concomitants (des problèmes de santé mentale et de toxicomanie), la plupart des participants étaient dépendants aux drogues ou à l'alcool et près du quart consommait de la drogue quotidiennement.

Tirer profit de nombreux modèles de soutien au logement
L’adoption de l’approche Logement d’abord à Vancouver a nécessité qu’on s’attarde à l'itinérance chronique et aux troubles concomitants. Néanmoins, il a aussi fallu inclure les personnes ayant des besoins moins complexes mais qui étaient prises dans un tourbillon de séjours intermittents dans des logements insalubres, des refuges, des hôpitaux et des établissements correctionnels – des services offrant très peu de services et de soins de santé mentale.

Pour mieux desservir cette population, l'équipe de Vancouver a adopté une approche à deux volets. Selon un modèle d’« habitat dispersé », on a offert aux participants l'accès à des logements dispersés dans 22 quartiers de la ville. Le service RainCity Housing s’est chargé du suivi intensif dans le milieu chez les participants aux besoins complexes et la Coast Foundation Society a assuré le suivi d'intensité variable chez les participants aux besoins modérés. Le volet logement a été pris en charge par la société MPA. On a offert à un autre groupe de personnes un logement en résidence communautaire et des services de soutien selon le modèle d’« habitat collectif » de la Portland Hotel Society. Tous logés à l'hôtel Bosman, ces participants ont eu accès, sur place, à une vaste gamme de services pour répondre à leurs besoins en matière de santé mentale et de dépendance. Les universités Simon Fraser et de la Colombie-Britannique ont mené une recherche pour évaluer les retombées du projet pour les participants habitant les logements « dispersé » ou la résidence « collective ».

Collaborer avec des partenaires communautaires
Les responsables du projet de Vancouver ont travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires de la communauté pour partager des connaissances et veiller à la réussite de l'initiative. Ces partenaires comprenaient la régie de santé Vancouver Coastal Health, la Ville de Vancouver, le service de police de Vancouver, des universités, des organismes sans but lucratif et des ministères du gouvernement provincial.

Promouvoir l'approche accordant la priorité au logement
Le Bureau des conférenciers du projet Chez Soi de Vancouver, à la fois un outil de développement de compétences et un moyen de faire connaître l'approche Logement d’abord, a donné aux participants l'occasion de discuter ouvertement de leur expérience avec l'itinérance et des retombées du projet dans leur vie. Le Bureau regroupait 13 conférenciers principaux qui ont participé à plus de 30 événements partout à Vancouver. Ils ont raconté leur histoire et lutté contre la stigmatisation entourant l'itinérance et la santé mentale.

De la même façon, le web-documentaire Ici, Chez soi de l'Office national du film du Canada, qui illustre le quotidien de participants au projet Chez Soi, a brillamment mis en images les histoires et les expériences de la population itinérante de Vancouver.


Ce que nous avons appris

Les participants qui ont reçu un logement et des services de soutien se sont rendus moins souvent aux urgences et étaient reconnus coupables d’infractions moins souvent que les utilisateurs qui n’avaient pas bénéfécié d’un tel soutien. Ce qui compte possiblement davantage est le fait qu’ils ressentaient un sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté qu’ils appelaient désormais leur chez-soi.

Les personnes aux besoins complexes qui se retrouvent dans la rue, particulièrement celles souffrant de troubles concomitants de santé mentale et de toxicomanie, sont généralement incapables d’obtenir un accès constant aux soins qui sont essentiels à leur rétablissement. Le projet de recherche Chez Soi à Vancouver a démontré que l’approche Logement d’abord pouvait sensiblement améliorer la vie des personnes itinérantes de la ville, notamment dans le quartier Downtown Eastside. Les résultats définitifs pour le site de Vancouver exposent de façon convaincante qu’en recevant un soutien adéquat, les utilisateurs sont en mesure de conserver leur logement et d’atteindre d’importants objectifs personnels.

Rapports de la Commission