Off
Off

*Please note, some terms used at the start of the webinar are not considered safe language when it comes to talking about suicide. We apologize for the use of these terms. This was corrected later in the webinar. For more information on safe language, please visit the Language Matters: Safe Communication for Suicide Prevention guide *


Postvention refers to the actions taken in a school or a community setting in response to a death by suicide. While the efficiency of postvention programs for reducing the rate of suicide must still be demonstrated empirically, clinical experts are suggesting that they are a best practice for preventing a “ripple” effect.

 The webinar discusses the Being Prepared to Act in the Event of a Suicide postvention program, launched this past February in Quebec. The multimodal program includes various strategies, which can be offered simultaneously based on sequential phases for different subgroups.

 Informing the program were different analyses, including a study that used a Delphi method consensus as well as a strategic evaluation.

The study was completed in partnership with:

  • Françoise Roy
  • Tania Boilard
  • L’Association Québécoise de Prévention du Suicide.

Funding for the program was provided by the Secrétariat à la Jeunesse du Gouvernement du Québec.

The webinar was presented by Monique Séguin, PhD.  Dr. Séguin, the program's co-author, is a professor in the Department of Psychology and Psychoeducation at the Université du Québec en Outaouais as well as a researcher at the McGill Group for Suicide Studies and a member of the Réseau québécois de recherche sur le suicide, la dépression et les troubles associés (Rqsdta).

Off
Off

*Veuillez noter que l’écho qui peut être entendu au début de la présentation est corrigé après 13 minutes. Nous sommes désolés de cet inconvénient. *

 

La postvention correspond à l'ensemble des interventions qui se déploient après un suicide dans un milieu scolaire ou communautaire. Bien que l'efficacité de programmes de postvention et leurs impacts sur la baisse du taux de suicide n'ont pas été démontrés empiriquement, le consensus clinique suggère des réponses efficaces pour éviter les effets « d’entraînement ».

Le webinaire discute du programme de postvention : Être prêt à agir à la suite d'un suicide. Des travaux réalisés au Québec ont permis d’élaborer un programme de postvention de type multimodal qui inclut des stratégies variées, offertes simultanément et selon une séquence temporelle auprès de sous-groupes différents.

 Différentes étapes d’analyses ont permis le développement du programme dont une étude de consensus selon la méthode Delphi et une évaluation stratégique.

Cette étude a été réalisée en copartenariat avec :

  • Françoise Roy
  • Tania Boilard
  • l’Association Québécoise de Prévention du Suicide.

Cette étude a été financée par le Secrétariat à la Jeunesse du Gouvernement du Québec.

Le webinaire a été présenté par Monique Séguin, PhD. Co-auteure du programme, Dr. Séguin est professeur au Départment de psychoéducation et de psychologie à l'Université du Québec en Outaouais, elle est chercheure, au Groupe McGill d'Étude sur le Suicide, et membre du Réseau québécois de recherche sur le suicide, la dépression et les troubles associés (Rqsdta).