Suicide Prevention - Webinar Series Archive

Suicide Prevention - Série de webinaires archivés

Past Presentations

Présentations passées

Safe messaging about suicide, mental illness and mental health

Description: Join Jodie Golden from the Public Health Agency of Canada and Dr. Jijian Voronka from the University of Windsor to learn how to safely talk about suicide and mental health. Information will be provided to help participants gain the confidence necessary to learn from people with lived experience and engage in safe and meaningful conversations around suicide and mental health. 

Guest Speakers:

Jodie Golden,
Senior Policy Analyst, Public Health Agency of Canada
 
Dr. Jijian Voronka,
Assistant Professor, University of Windsor

How to develop a suicide crisis safety plan

The Suicide Crisis Safety Plan (SCSP) is a dynamic tool for the practice of suicide prevention. The purpose of this training is to empower mental health professionals to develop an SCSP. The webinar will cover the relevance and fundamentals of the SCSP, its steps and support elements, its paper and digital protocols, and research data on the SCSP. The learning process will include a lecture, a clinical vignette, and a question period. At the end, participants will be invited to evaluate the webinar and identify their future training needs.

Two positive intervention strategies in schools that focus on the personal resources of primary school children

This webinar highlights the contributions of two programs — Zippy’s Friends, and Passport: Skills for Life — which are both part of CRISE’s approach to mental health promotion.

Webinar #11 -Suicide Prevention: Building a Safety Plan

Description: Join Dr. Yvonne Bergmans from the Arthur Sommer Rotenberg Suicide and Depression Studies Program to learn about safety planning and how it relates to suicide prevention. Dr. Bergmans will guide participants through a suicide prevention safety plan template and go in depth about what to incorporate and how to best use this template.

Guest Speaker:

Dr. Yvonne Bergmans,
Suicide Intervention Consultant at the Suicide Studies Research Unit of the ASR Chair in Suicide and Depression Studies Program

Le processus AUDIS-Intervention

This webinar explains the theoretical and practical foundations of the AUDIS-Intervention process. Its main elements are

  • adapting the level of intervention to the real danger experienced by the person
  • teamwork
  • the need to take suicidal behaviours seriously
  • to provide safety while ensuring the autonomy and self-determination of the person. 

The AUDIS-Intervention process offers suicide prevention strategies tailored to the specificities and needs of people with ID or ASD. Used in addition to estimation tools, it proposes strategies to ensure safety, create hope, reduce the risk of repetition, mitigate the suicide option, reduce risk factors, and increase protection factors.

Le processus AUDIS-Estimation

This webinar explains the theoretical and practical foundations of the AUDIS-Estimation process. Its main elements are:

  • teamwork and the sharing of expertise and information
  • the need to seriously consider all suicidal behaviours from systemic and longitudinal perspectives
  • adaptating the investigation to the person’s characteristics (estimation criteria and language)
  • decoding the person's language and behaviours
  • multiplying sources of information
  • integrating suicide prevention into intervention plans. 

The AUDIS-Estimation process is a clinical decision-support tool for immediate danger and long-term suicidal risk, specifically adapted to the particularities and needs of people with intellectual disorder (ID) or autism spectrum disorder (ASD). It has four complementary spheres of risk investigation: identification, estimating the short-term danger, evaluating the medium- and long-term risk, and assessing the suicide option.

Webinar #10 - Implementation of good practices in suicide prevention in Quebec : an innovative project

Description: This French webinar allows participants to learn about implementation of good practices in suicide prevention in Quebec: an innovative project. Dr. Julie Lane will touch on the suicide prevention initiatives in Quebec, the winning conditions for changing practices, and their impacts on suicide prevention.

Guest Speakers:
Dr. Julie Lane,
Assistant to the director and manager of the library and advanced practices of the CIUSSS Estrie

Kim Basque,
Training coordinator at the Association Québécoise en prévention du suicide (AQPS)

Webinar #08 - Substance Use and Suicide among Youth: Prevention and Intervention Strategies (March 9, 2017)

Substance Use and Suicide among Youth: Prevention and Intervention Strategies

Description: Join Dr. Robyn McQuaid from the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse (CCSA) to learn about CCSA’s recent report, titled Substance Use and Suicide among Youth: Prevention and Intervention Strategies. Dr. McQuaid will touch on the relationship between substance use and suicide, youth at risk for suicide, and the prevention and intervention approaches to address youth suicide and substance use.

Guest Speakers:

Dr. Robyn McQuaid
Research and Policy Analyst
Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse

Webinar #07 - Connecting Canada while Supporting Individuals’ Emotional and Mental Health (September 10, 2014)

Connecting Canada while Supporting Individuals’ Emotional and Mental Health

Description: According to the Canadian Community Health Survey (2012), 10 per cent of Canadians have reported mental health problems or substance dependence in the last 12 months. However, individuals who accessed distress line services (e.g., crisis lines), had a significantly higher number of discussions about mental health problems and mental illness than the national average, with calls of this nature reflecting 20 per cent of all topics of conversation.

This webinar examines the role of distress lines in supporting individuals who are suicidal or experiencing mental health crises. It also focuses on the establishment of a national toll-free number, and how the Canadian Distress Line Network is working to achieve this goal. 

Speakers: 

Elizabeth (Liz) Fisk – Executive Director – Distress Centres of Ontario; Executive Team, Canadian Distress Line Centre;
Karen Letofsky – Executive Director, Distress Centres Toronto;
Janet Smith – Program Manager, Manitoba Farm and Rural Support Services; Manitoba Suicide Line (Manitoba).

Webinar #06 - #308conversations – It’s time to start talking about suicide prevention (July 8, 2014)

#308conversations – It’s time to start talking about suicide prevention

Description: This informative 30 minute webinar provided an overview of what the MHCC is doing to prevent suicide, and explained what #308conversations is all about. At a glance, #308conversations is a grassroots campaign spearheaded by the MHCC that invites each of Canada’s 308 Members of Parliament to lead a conversation in their ridings about suicide prevention, postvention, and intervention.

Speaker: Stephanie Machel, Project Director, Suicide Prevention, Mental Health Commission of Canada

Prévention du suicide - Webinar Series Archive

Prévention du suicide - Série de webinaires archivés

Past Presentations

Présentations passées

Conseils pour des messages sécuritaires sur le suicide, la santé mentale et la maladie mentale

Description

 

Conférencières :

Jodie Golden, ​
Analyste principale des politiques, Agence de la santé publique du Canada ​

Jijian Voronka,​
Professeure adjointe, Université de Windsor

Comment élaborer un plan de sécurité pour la crise suicidaire

Le plan de sécurité pour crise suicidaire (PSCS) constitue un outil dynamique dans la pratique préventive du suicide. Cette formation vise à habiliter les professionnels en santé mentale à élaborer un PSCS. Cette activité abordera : la pertinence et les fondements du PSCS, les étapes et les éléments d’aide liés au PSCS, les protocoles papier et numérique du PSCS, et des données de recherche sur le PSCS. La démarche d’apprentissage repose sur un exposé magistral, une vignette clinique et une période de questions avec l’auditoire. À la fin, les participants sont invités à évaluer la qualité du webinaire et à identifier leurs besoins de formation future.

Deux stratégies d'intervention positives dans les écoles primaires misant sur les ressources personnelles des enfants

Ce webinaire vise à mettre en lumière les apports des programmes Les Amis de Zippy et Passeport : S’équiper pour la vie qui s’inscrivent dans l’axe de la promotion de la santé mentale du CRISE.

Webinaire #11 - Prévention du suicide : Créer un plan de sécurité

Description: Joignez‑vous à Yvonne Bergman du programme d’études sur le suicide et la dépression Arthur Sommer Rotenberg pour en savoir plus sur la planification de la sécurité. Et son lien avec la prévention du suicide. Mme Bergmans guidera les participants à l’aide d’un modèle de plan de sécurité pour la prévention du suicide et examinera en profondeur ce qu’il faut intégrer et comment utiliser au mieux ce modèle.

Conférencières :

Dre Yvonne Bergmans, conseillère en intervention sur le suicide pour l’Unité de recherche des études sur le suicide du Programme d’études sur le suicide et la dépression de la Chaire ASR.  

Le processus AUDIS-Intervention

Ce second webinaire vise à présenter et à expliquer les fondements théoriques et pratiques du processus AUDIS-Intervention Les enjeux principaux de l’intervention en prévention du suicide sont

  • l’adaptation du niveau d’intervention au danger réel vécu par la personne,
  • le travail en équipe,
  • la nécessité de prendre les comportements suicidaires au sérieux
  • d’assurer la sécurité tout en garantissant l’autonomie et l’autodétermination de la personne.

Le processus AUDIS-Intervention offre des stratégies de prévention du suicide adaptées aux spécificités et aux besoins des personnes ayant une DI ou un TSA. Il s‘utilise en complément des outils d’estimation et propose des stratégies de prévention du suicide pour assurer la sécurité,susciter l’espoir, réduire le risque de récidive, atténuer l’option suicide, diminuer les facteurs de risque et augmenter les facteurs de protection.

Le processus AUDIS-Estimation

Ce premier webinaire vise à présenter et à expliquer les fondements théoriques et pratiques du processus AUDIS-Estimation. Les enjeux principaux de l’estimation sont

  • le travail d’équipe et le partage d’expertise et d’informations,
  • la nécessité de considérer sérieusement tous les comportements suicidaires dans une perspective systémique et longitudinale,
  • l’adaptation de l’investigation aux caractéristiques de la personne (critères d’estimation et langage),
  • le décodage du langage et des comportements de la personne,
  • la multiplication des sources d’information,
  • l’intégration de la prévention du suicide dans les plans d’intervention.

Le processus AUDIS-Estimation est un outil de soutien à la décision clinique concernant le danger immédiat et le risque suicidaire à long terme, et spécifiquement adapté aux particularités et aux besoins des personnes ayant une DI ou un TSA. Il est composé de quatre sphères complémentaires d’investigation du risque : repérage, estimation du danger à court terme, évaluation du risque à moyen et long terme, et option suicide.

Webinaire #10 - Implantation des bonnes pratiques en prevention du suicide au Québec : un projet novateur

Description : Cette présentation webinaire francophone, permet aux participants d’apprendre davantage sur l’implantation des bonnes pratiques en prévention du suicide au Québec : un projet novateur. Mme Lane et Mme Basque parlera de l’initiative en prévention du suicide au Québec, les conditions gagnantes pour favoriser le changement de pratiques et la retombée de la démarche en prévention du suicide.

Conférencière :
Julie Lane (Ph.D., M.A),
Adjointe au directeur et gestionnaire du service de transfert des connaissances, des bibliothèques et des pratiques de pointe au CIUSSS de l’Estrie

Kim Basque,
Coordinatrice de la formation pour l’association québécoise en prévention du suicide (AQPS)

Webinaire #08 - L’utilisation de substances et le suicide chez les jeunes : stratégies de prévention et d’interventions (9 mars 2017)

L’utilisation de substances et le suicide chez les jeunes : stratégies de prévention et d’interventions

Description : Joignez‑vous à Robyn McQuaid du Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies (CCLT) pour en apprendre davantage sur le récent rapport de CCLT qui porte sur les stratégies de prévention et d’intervention en matière d’utilisation de substances et de suicide chez les jeunes.  Mme McQuaid parlera des relations entre l’utilisation de substances et le suicide, des jeunes les plus à risque de décéder par  suicide et des approches de prévention et d’intervention pour traiter de la question du suicide  et de l’utilisation de substances chez les jeunes.

Conférencière :

Robyn McQuaid
analyste en recherche et politiques
Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies

Webinaire #07 - Faire communiquer les Canadiens tout en soutenant leur santé mentale et émotive (10 septembre 2014)

Faire communiquer les Canadiens tout en soutenant leur santé mentale et émotive

Résumé de la présentation : Selon un sondage sur la santé des communautés canadiennes (2012), 10 p. 100 des Canadiens ont éprouvé un problème de santé mentale ou une dépendance au cours des 12 derniers mois. Les personnes qui ont appelé un service d’écoute pour personnes en détresse (ex. un centre de crise) l’ont fait plus souvent en raison d’un trouble mental ou d’une maladie mentale que la moyenne de la population. En fait, dans une proportion de 20 p. 100, leurs appels portaient sur ces sujets.

Ce webinaire explore le rôle des services d’écoute pour personnes en détresse dans le soutien qu’ils apportent aux personnes suicidaires ou traversant un épisode de crise. Il porte aussi sur la mise en place d’un numéro pancanadien sans frais et des moyens entrepris par l’organisme Canadian Distress Line Network pour y parvenir.

Oratrices : Elizabeth (Liz) Fisk, directrice générale, Distress Centres of Ontario, membre de la direction, Canadian Distress Line Centre;
Karen Letofsky, directrice générale, Distress Centres Toronto;
Janet Smith, responsable de programme, Manitoba Farm and Rural Support Services, Manitoba Suicide Line (Manitoba).

Webinaire #06 - #308conversations – It’s time to start talking about suicide prevention (en anglais) (8 juillet 2014)

#308conversations – It’s time to start talking about suicide prevention (en anglais)

Résumé de la présentation : Ce webinaire informatif de 30 minutes a présenté un résumé des mesures qui avaient été prises par la Commission pour prévenir le suicide, et a expliqué ce qu’est la campagne #308conversations. En quelques mots, la campagne #308conversations, chapeautée par la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada, a invitée les 308 députés fédéraux à organiser des entretiens dans leur circonscription au sujet de la prévention du suicide, des interventions et de la postvention.

Oratrice : Stephanie Machel, directrice du projet relatif à la prévention du suicide, Commission de la santé mentale du Canada