First Responders - Webinar Series Archive

First Responders - Série de webinaires archivés

Past Presentations

Présentations passées

Webinar #04 - Stress, the Brain & Mental Health Hygiene (April 26, 2017)

Stress, the Brain & Mental Health Hygiene

Description: This webinar presentation, which will be delivered in English, will enable participants to understand the different types of stress, our brain’s response to stress, as well as how to adopt positive mental health hygiene practices. 

At the end of the presentation, participants will be better positioned to understand the steps they can take and habits that can be adopted in order to maintain strong mental health hygiene. 

Guest Speaker:
Dr. Bill Howatt
Chief Research & Development Officer, Workforce Productivity
Morneau Shepell

Webinar #3 - Defusing and debriefing: Prevention tools for first responders (french only) (February 28, 2017)

This webinar presentation, which will be delivered in French, will enable responders to improve their understanding of the psychological impacts linked to operational duties and become familiar with key psychological injury prevention tools, such as defusing, psychological debriefing, as well as operational debriefing.

Webinar #2 - Psychologically Healthy Workplaces, Trauma, and Resilience (October 11, 2016)

Psychologically Healthy Workplaces, Trauma, and Resilience

Description: During this webinar Dr. Jeff Morley will touch briefly on Canada's National Standard for Psychological Health & Safety in the Workplace, then focus on risks to workplace psychological health including Primary Trauma, Secondary Trauma, Compassion Fatigue, and Organizational Stress.  The session will conclude with latest science, research, and best practices for personal and professional resilience. 

Guest Speaker:

Dr. Jeff Morley
Registered Psychologist
Board Certified Expert in Traumatic Stress
Retired RCMP Staff Sergeant

About the Speaker:

Dr. Jeff Morley is a Registered Psychologist, and Board Certified Expert in Traumatic Stress.  Jeff recently retired as a Staff Sergeant with the RCMP, after 23 years of service.  In his practice Jeff now works with many first responders, as well people in the community. Dr. Morley’s practice is largely centered on helping people with PTSD, Depression, Anxiety and workplace stress.  Jeff has trained first responders across Canada on Critical Incident Stress Management, peer support, psychologically healthy workplaces, trauma and resilience.

Webinar #01 - Suicide Prevention & Awareness for First Responders (July 26, 2016)

Suicide Prevention & Awareness for First Responders

Description: First responders are trained to face critical situations that most other people would run away from. The operational duties of first responders place them at an increased risk of developing a mental injury or illness, including operational stress injuries, depression, substance use and suicide ideation.  

In addition, first responders deal with distinctive professional factors, including demanding shift schedules, exposure to traumatic events and vicarious trauma, public scrutiny, as well as social and cultural expectations of first responders. How do we take care of those whose very purpose and job are to help others in times of crisis?

Evidence shows that reducing stigma, raising awareness, building resilience and developing coping skills are effective strategies that can help first responders prepare for and deal with some of the events and situations they may encounter on the job.

Join us and learn about innovative and effective approaches to suicide prevention. In this upcoming webinar, our guest speakers will provide an overview of the trends and evidence around suicide and first responders. More importantly, you will learn how education, awareness and training can help increase help-seeking behaviours and build suicide prevention capacity within first responder organizations and the community at large. 

Guest Speaker:

Tom Walker, MSW, RSW
Human Factors Specialist
Ornge

About the Speaker:

Tom Walker has worked in the field of social services for 28 years. He is currently a Human Factors Specialist with Ornge where his key responsibility is providing therapeutic interventions for paramedics and staff, and is developing and implementing a peer support program and working towards a healthy workplace environment. He is a trainer and consultant with the Crisis Trauma Resource Institute (CTRI). Previously he worked as the Clinical Supervisor of Nexus Youth Services and the Concurrent Disorders Program. He is a trained Clinical Traumatologist & Certified Compassion Fatigue Specialist, lead trainer and consultant with the Canadian Traumatology Institute.

Tom has a private practice where he also works with trauma, suicide prevention, intervention and postvention, addictions and mental health counselling for adolescents, adults and families. He also teaches in Post Graduate Programs for Concurrent Disorders at Seneca College and Humber College. He has worked Director of Business Development and Training with CTI where he “trained people helping people” and took leadership roles with the Youth Worker Training Initiative and the Breaking the Cycle program (Youth Gang Exit Strategy).

Premiers intervenants - Webinar Series Archive

Premiers intervenants - Série de webinaires archivés

Past Presentations

Présentations passées

Webinaires #04 - Le stress, le cerveau et l’hygiène mentale (26 avril 2017)

Le stress, le cerveau et l’hygiène mentale

Description: Cette présentation webinaire, laquelle sera diffusée en anglais, permettra aux  participants de mieux comprendre les différents types de stress, les réponses de notre cerveau face au stress, ainsi que le concept d’hygiène mentale.

À la fin de ce webinaire, les participants seront davantage en mesure de comprendre les étapes à suivre et les habitudes à adopter afin de maintenir une bonne hygiène mentale.

Conférenciers :
Dr. Bill Howatt
Conseilleur principal en recherche et développement, Productivité au travail
Morneau Shepell

Webinaire #3 - Le désamorçage et débreffage : des outils de prévention pour les premiers intervenants (28 février 2017)

Cette présentation webinaire, laquelle sera diffusée en français, permettra aux intervenants désireux d’améliorer leur compréhension quant aux impacts psychologiques liés aux tâches opérationnelles et de se familiariser avec les outils de prévention des blessures psychologiques, tels que le désamorçage, le débreffage psychologique ainsi que le débreffage opérationnel.

Webinaires #02 - Milieux de travail sains sur le plan psychologique, traumatismes et résilience (11 octobre 2016)

Milieux de travail sains sur le plan psychologique, traumatismes et résilience

Description: Lors de ce webinaire, le Dr Jeff Morley parlera brièvement de la Norme nationale du Canada sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail. Il se concentrera par la suite sur les risques pour la santé psychologique au travail comme les traumatismes primaires et secondaires, l’usure de compassion et le stress organisationnel. En conclusion, il sera question de la recherche et des pratiques exemplaires ainsi que des travaux scientifiques les plus récents en matière de résilience personnelle et professionnelle. 

Conférenciers :

Dr Jeff Morley
Psychologue agréé
Expert agréé en stress traumatique
Sergent-chef de la GRC à la retraite

À propos du présentateur :

Le Dr Jeff Morley est un psychologue agréé ainsi qu’un expert agréé en stress traumatique. Il a récemment pris sa retraite de ses fonctions de sergent-chef dans la GRC après 23 années de service. Dans sa pratique, il travaille avec de nombreux premiers intervenants ainsi que des gens du milieu. La pratique du Dr Morley est principalement axée sur les personnes aux prises avec l’ESPT, la dépression, l'anxiété et le stress associé au milieu de travail afin de leur venir en aide. Il a formé des premiers répondants d’un bout à l’autre du Canada au sujet de la gestion du stress à la suite d’un incident critique, du soutien par les pairs, des milieux de travail sains sur le plan psychologique, des traumatismes et de la résilience.

Webinaire #01 - La prévention du suicide et de sensibilisation pour les premiers intervenants (26 juillet 2016)

La prévention du suicide et de sensibilisation pour les premiers intervenants

Description: Les premiers intervenants sont formés pour affronter des situations critiques qui feraient fuir la plupart des gens. En raison de leurs fonctions opérationnelles, ils sont davantage exposés au risque de développer une blessure psychologique ou une maladie mentale, par exemple une blessure de stress opérationnel, la dépression, la toxicomanie ou des idées suicidaires.

En outre, les premiers intervenants doivent composer avec divers facteurs professionnels uniques, notamment d’exigeants horaires de travail en rotation, l’exposition à des événements traumatisants et à des traumatismes par personne interposée, l’examen du public et les attentes culturelles et sociales à leur endroit. Prenons-nous bien soin de ceux dont la mission est de protéger les autres en cas de crise?

Les recherches montrent que la réduction de la stigmatisation, la sensibilisation de la population, l’augmentation de la résilience et l’acquisition de techniques d’adaptation constituent des stratégies efficaces pouvant aider les premiers intervenants à se préparer aux événements et aux situations pouvant survenir dans le cadre de leur travail ainsi qu’à composer avec ces derniers.

Joignez-vous à nous pour découvrir des approches novatrices et efficaces en matière de prévention du suicide. Dans le premier webinaire, nos conférenciers présenteront un aperçu des tendances et des données probantes relatives au suicide et aux premiers intervenants. Nous verrons également comment l’éducation, la sensibilisation et la formation peuvent contribuer à multiplier les comportements de recherche d’aide et à accroître les capacités en matière de prévention du suicide au sein des organisations de premiers intervenants et de la collectivité en général.

Conférenciers :

Tom Walker, MSW, RSW
Spécialiste des facteurs humains
Ornge

À propos du présentateur :

Tom Walker travaille dans le domaine des services sociaux depuis 28 ans. Il est actuellement spécialiste des facteurs humains chez Ornge, où sa principale responsabilité consiste à offrir des interventions thérapeutiques aux ambulanciers paramédicaux et au personnel. Il travaille à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’un programme de soutien par les pairs ainsi qu’à la mise en place d’un milieu de travail sain. Il est formateur et consultant au Crisis Trauma Resource Institute (CTRI). Il était auparavant superviseur clinique des Nexus Youth Services et du Concurrent Disorders Program. Traumatologue clinique qualifié et spécialiste agréé en usure de compassion, il est formateur principal et consultant au Canadian Traumatology Institute.

M. Walker a un cabinet privé où il offre des services de counseling traumatologique, de prévention du suicide, d’intervention et de postvention, de traitement des toxicomanies et de counseling en santé mentale aux adolescents, aux adultes et aux familles. Il enseigne également dans des programmes d’études postdoctorales en troubles concomitants au Collège Seneca et au Collège Humber. Il a travaillé comme directeur, Développement des entreprises et formation au Canadian Traumatology Institute, où il a « formé des personnes qui aident d’autres personnes » et a assumé des rôles de leadership dans le cadre de la Youth Worker Training Initiative (initiative de formation des travailleurs auprès des jeunes) et du programme Briser le cycle (Youth Gang Exit Strategy [stratégie visant à encourager les jeunes à quitter le milieu des gangs]).